The Ellen Browning Scripps Pier.

Full Moon Pier Walks

 

A warm night lit by a full moon is the perfect time to explore one of La Jolla's most prominent landmarks. The Ellen Browning Scripps Memorial Pier, usually closed to the public, is used by scientists, students and aquarium staff for a variety of research projects. It also serves as a platform to collect local marine life and deploy small boats and oceanographic instruments.

During this moonlit walk along the entire 1,090-foot concrete pier, aquarium naturalists will teach participants about the history of Scripps Oceanography and current research projects, while collecting plankton, performing experiments, and learning more about the life below the pier. Ages 9+ (Ages 9-13 must be accompanied by a paid adult) .For a sneak peek at the view from the Scripps Pier, see the Scripps Pier Cam.

Pre-purchase Required: Call 858-534-7336 or register online.
Members: $25, Public: $30 


Summer Season Pier Walks

Summer program time: 7-8:30pm

June
Saturday, June 18
Sunday, June 19

July
Monday, July 18
Tuesday, July 19

August
Tuesday, August 16
Thursday, August 18


Fall Season Pier Walks

Fall program time: 6-7:30pm

September
Wednesday, September 14
Thursday, September 15
Friday, September 16

October
Thursday, October 13
Friday, October 14
Saturday, October 15